Reading Myself Into the Stories of Others

I was recently challenged at a John Maxwell Team event to not “read myself into the stories” that others are sharing with me (tell them about my experience on the subject they have surfaced).  Sharing about my experience on the topic has come so naturally and I thought that this was the perfect way to create a good connection with others.

Although there are some positive aspects with this approach, I am finding it so much more powerful to stay focused on the other person, being interested and curious about their experiences.

My relationship gets deeper faster by controlling my desire to read myself into their stories.

I often do get to share my stories relative to their topic, as they ask about me when they are truly ready to listen and hear about me.

Focusing on other’s experiences is the way I communicate when I am in a coaching mode.  It is so powerful.

Focusing on other’s experiences is a powerful and yet very unnatural practice for most of us.  Join me and increase the power of your conversations by focusing on the other person, being interested and curious about their experiences.  You will be a better friend, communicator, and connector.

Thanks mentor Ed DeCosta for the challenge.

About cwarnky

I am an author, ninja, and Executive and Life Coach with Well Done Life, focused on partnering with people to be better life stewards.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment