“Yet”

With these powerful reasons, my “I can’t do it!” has become “I can’t do it… yet.” And that is a tremendous difference. That is all the difference. One position reflects no hope, and the other says there is hope and I will get there – I just need more time and work.

Who would have dreamed that the little word yet could be so powerful? It is an extremely powerful, tiny word that packs a big punch. To be able to think and then verbally say the word yet injects hope and a desired future into our lives.

I’m not suggesting that the word yet applies to everything, but I believe it can apply to a whole lot more things than many of us think. Ninja training has helped me see the “yet” concept come to life for me and many of my peers. Two examples are my experience on the warped wall and swinging between elevated bars. When I first started training, I was three feet short of the top on my warped wall attempts, and I could only lache, or swing across one bar to another bar, with short distances between the bars. My warped wall catches are now much more consistent, and sometimes I can complete laches with eight-foot gaps between the bars. And I’m not even six feet tall. Eight feet is a very long way to fly through the air when you’re swinging on those bars.

“Yet” Has Served Me Well

I still have a lot of yets in my life, as a ninja and in many other respects. On the ninja front, I cannot yet catch the top of a warped wall every time, but I’m getting closer to that level. I’m not yet as consistent as I want to be on an eight-foot lache. I’m not yet able to move up (and especially come down) a salmon ladder with the consistency I would like. I’m not yet consistent in walking across a 10-foot slack line. But I’m much, much, closer than I was in the past. My key word is yet. It has served me well in the past and I know it will serve me very well in the future.

The same could be said about writing a book. When I finished the first draft of The Heart of a Ninja, I had not yet successfully written a book. As you can see, now I have published that book and three other books, and you’re reading the product of one of my prior “yets.”

Where do you need to start adding the word yet? See how it can help your mind and your actions. I’m confident that yet will help you.

This is an excerpt from the book, The Heart of a Ninja for Kids: It’s Play Time!, available on Amazon.

#ANW, #American Ninja Warrior, #Ninja Warrior, #ANW Jr, #American Ninja Warrior Junior

About cwarnky

I am an author, ninja, and Executive and Life Coach with Well Done Life, focused on partnering with people to be better life stewards.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment